Monday, May 19, 2008

Mumbai Indians on a roll!!!

The Mumbai Indians were on a roll when they notched up their 6th consecutive victory by beating the Deccan Chargers yesterday in Mumbai. This is a new record in IPL beating the previous record of 5 consecutive wins by Kings XI Punjab. Yesterday, the start performer for Mumbai, Shaun Pollock was unfit and couldn't make it to the final XI. He was replaced by Dilhara Fernando. Dwayne Bravo was playing his last match of the IPL before leaving for the tour against Australia. Gilly won the toss and elected to field. Mumbai started off in a blazing manner with Jayasuriya continuing his blistering form flaying the bowlers with certain amount of disdain. He showed scant respect to any bowler and Sachin on the other end just kept rotating the strike. In the end, it was Venugopala Rao who brought an end to the Jayasuriya cameo. Then, Sachin hit 3 superb boundaries before holing out to midwicket off Afridi. Then, Uthappa and Thornley fell i quick succession. But Nayar and Bravo steadied the ship and took the Mumbai Indians to a respectable score of 178 in the stipulated 20 overs. The Deccan Chargers' reply was too bad as the new ball bowlers Bravo and Fernando took the wickets of Gilly, Afridi and in form Sharma in quick succession leaving them tottering at 20-3. Then, Venugopala Rao and Ravi Teja got the team closer to victory but in the end it was so near yet so far. Venugopala rao had made it a habit to convert humiliating defeats to decent defeats. Bravo for his all round performance of 30 with the bat and 3-24 with the ball got the man of the match in his last match in this version of IPL. C'mon Mumbai!!!